2013 Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards, 19 October 2013

Island Literary Awards: Yvette DoucetteYvette Doucette received the Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Literary Arts of P.E.I.

The P.E.I. Writers’ Guild honoured Island writers and those dedicated to the literary arts at the 26th annual Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards held recently at The Guild.

The 2013 awards began with an afternoon celebration of student writing, which included awards presentations, readings by first-place winners and entertainment by children’s author Deirdre Kessler. The evening gala featured presentations and readings in the adult categories, special readings by poet laureate Dianne Hicks Morrow and award-winning New Brunswick author Riel Nason, and music by Justin Simard and Todd MacLean. Lt.-Gov. Frank Lewis attended the afternoon celebrations.

This year’s highlights included the presentation of the Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Literary Arts of Prince Edward Island to Yvette Doucette, and the Joseph Sherman Award for Special Contribution to the Literary Arts on P.E.I. to Lori Cheverie of the Bookmark.

Island Literary Awards: Lori CheverieLori Cheverie, second from left, from the Bookmark, received the Joseph Sherman Award. Here, she is congratulated by presenters Laurie Brinklow, Ann Sherman and Libby Oughton.

Margot Maddison- MacFadyen and Lori MayneMilton Acorn Poetry Awards: 1. Angela MacLaren, 2. Paul Vreeland, 3. Margot Maddison-MacFadyen. Margot receives her award, presented by Robert Acorn and Lori Mayne.

Paul VreelandPaul Vreeland receives his poetry award from Robert and Alta Acorn while Charlottetown city councillor Eddie Rice looks on.

Dianne Morrow at Island Literary AwardsPoet Laureate Dianne Hicks Morrow talks about poetry and reads some.

← Older Newer →